Frederick County Real Estate Information

Frederick County can be found in the western part of Maryland. This county is considered to be a portion of the Washington-Baltimore Metropolitan Area, and it has borders that contact both the southern edge of Pennsylvania and the northeastern part of Virginia. Frederick County is the historic site of the Camp David Accords, which were carried out in a portion of Catoctin Mountain Park. Frederick County is also the location of the United States’ Army base, Fort Detrick. The county seat for Frederick County is in the city of Frederick. This city was called home at one point by such notable figures as Francis Scott Key, Governor Thomas Johnson, Roger Taney, and Barbara Fritchie. The county and city of Frederick were both named after Frederick Calvert, the sixth Baron of Baltimore. Attractions to the county of Frederick include the Clustered Spires, which is a monument to the composer of the US national anthem, Francis Scott Key. One can also find in Frederick County the National Museum of Civil War Medicine, the Schifferstadt Architectural Museum, the Monocacy National Battlefield, and the South Mountain Battlefield.

Frederick County covers a total area of 663 square miles of land and 4 square miles of water. The immense of this county makes it the largest county in the entire state of Maryland. However, the county used to be much larger until the property was split up in 1776 to form three counties. The western portion became Washington County, the eastern part became Montgomery County, and the central portion remained Frederick. Frederick County is bordered by Adams County in Pennsylvania to the north; Carroll County to the east; Howard County to the southeast; Franklin County, Pennsylvania to the northwest; Montgomery County to the south; Washington County to the west; and lastly, Loudoun County, Virginia to the southwest.

Frederick County contains only 2 incorporated cities: the city of Brunswick, incorporated in 1890, and the city of Frederick, incorporated in 1816. Frederick also contains many incorporated towns. These include Burkitsville (1894), Emmitsburg (1824), Middletown (1833), Mount Airy (1894), Myersville (1904), New Market (1904), Thurmont (1831), Walkersville (1892), and Woodsboro (1836). There is also one incorporated village found in the county of Frederick, and that is the village of Rosemont, incorporated in 1953. Other towns found in Frederick County that have yet to be incorporated include Ballenger Creek, Braddock Heights, Clover Hill, Discovery-Spring Garden, Green Valley, and Linganore-Bartonsville. Other unincorporated communities are Adamstown, Buckneystown, Graceham, Ijamsville, Jefferson, Knoxville, Ladiesburg, Lewistown, Libertytown, Lake Linganore, Monrovia, New Midway, Petersville, Point of Rocks, Rocky Ridge, Sabillasville, Sunny Side, Tuscanora, Utica, and Wolfsville.