Prince George’s County Real Estate Information

Prince George’s County can be found in the state of Maryland. The county surrounds Washington DC on its north, east, and south sides. It is home to a population of over 800,000 residents and is also the richest county in the whole United States with a majority of African American residents. Prince George’s County falls in the Baltimore Washington Metropolitan Area. Upper Marlboro is the county seat of Prince George’s. The county gets its name after Prince George of Denmark. Prince George was the husband of Queen Anne of Great Britain and also the brother of King Christian V of Denmark and Norway. In 2008, Prince George’s County was given a AAA rating by Standard and Poor, making it only one of 48 other counties to receive this rating.

Prince George’s County covers a total area of 498 square miles. The eastern border of the county is created by the Patuxent River, separating Prince George’s from Howard, Calvert, and Anne Arundel Counties. This also makes Prince George’s County home to some of the most beautiful waterfront properties in Maryland. Anne Arundel County lies to the east of Prince George’s, Calvert County to the southeast, Charles County to the south, Howard County to the north, Montgomery County to the northwest, Fairfax County, Virginia to the southwest, Alexandria, Virginia also to the southwest, and Washington DC to the west. Prince George’s County contains 10 different incorporated cities. These include the cities of Bowie, incorporated in 1882; College Park, incorporated in 1945; District Heights, incorporated in 1936; Glenarden, incorporated in 1939; Greenbelt, incorporated in 1937; Hyattsville, incorporated in 1886; Laurel, incorporated in 1870; Mount Rainier, incorporated in 1910; New Carrolton, incorporated in 1953; and Seat Pleasant, incorporated in 1931. Prince George’s also has 17 different incorporated towns as well. These include the towns of Berwyn Heights (1896), Bladensburg (1854), Brentwood (1922), Capitol Heights (1910), Cheverly (1931), Colmar Manor (1927), Cottage City (1924), Eagle Harbor (1929), Edmonston (1924), Fairmount Heights (1935), Forest Heights (1945), Landover Hills (1945), Morningside (1949), North Brentwood (1924), Riverdale Park (1920), Univesity Park (1936), and Upper Marlboro (1870). Other unincorporated towns in Prince George’s County include Accokeek, Adelphi, Andrews Air Force Base, Beltsville, Brandywine, Calverton, Camp Springs, Carmody-Hills-Pepper Mill Village, Chillum, Clinton, Coral Hills, East Riverdale, Forestville, Fort Washington, Friendly, Glenn Dale, Goddard, Greater Landover, Greater Upper Marlboro, Hillandale, Hillcrest Heights, Kettering, Konterra, Lake Arbor, Langley Park, Lanham-Seabrook, Largo, Marlow Heights, Marlton, Mitchellville, Oxon Hill-Glassmanor, Rosaryville, South Laurel, Springdale, Suitland-Silver Hill, Temple Hills, Walker Mill, West Laurel, Woodlawn, and Woodmore.